Committed to water for the world Engagés pour l’eau du monde

GrandLyon Metropole

The Metropolis of Lyon dates from 1 January 2015. This local authority is unique in France and was created by merging the urban council of Lyon with the Rhone general council comprising 59 towns to create “Grand Lyon”.
The event marked an institutional innovation since, for the first time in France, the administrative layering has been genuinely simplified. Lyon Metropolis was created to ensure more efficient, faster public action that corresponds to day-to-day life in the area.

The Lyon Metropolis implements all of the competencies previously ensured by Lyon’s urban council and the Rhone authority, along with additional competencies covered by the towns.

  • Countries of operation

    • Burkina Faso
    • Madagascar
    • Mali
    • Senegal
    • Togo

  • Areas of expertise

    • Access to water
    • Sanitation, hygiene, and rain water
    • Water for agriculture
    • Protection and restoration of ecosystems
  • Type of expertise

    • Decentralized international cooperation
    • Data and information systems
    • Equipment, Material, Products
    • Raising awareness